EEB’s Merry Christmas

3 Jan

‘Twas the night before Thursday, when all through the house

Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse;

The presents were stacked by the door with care,

In hopes that my mother soon would be there;

My sister and father were nestled all snug in their beds,

While visions of sugar-plums danced in their heads;

And mamma in her pajamas, and I in my cap,

Had just stirred from a long winter’s nap,

When out of the digital alarm there arose such a clatter,

I sprang from the bed to see what was the matter.

And then I remembered, with a jump and a smile,

Today was the day we would travel many miles

To see my best friend and co-author,

Brooke Norris in the public library– just to our order.

– EEB’s version of “The Night Before Christmas”

Since we live quite a ways away from each other, Brooke and myself only get to meet up a few times a year. And when we do, it’s a catch all for birthday wishes, Merry Christmas’s, and Happy New Year’s. This year was no exception as we met up at a local library for the day after meticulous planning and much preparation. The big presents this year were decidedly authorial.

photo

Brooke and I pose with two of the newly printed copies of ‘Napped at Night

Although my gift pales in comparison to Brooke’s, I gave her a hand fan including the art of communication through said fans, hopefully to give her some inspiration for her books from the victorian and renaissance eras.

Not surprisingly, though, Brooke beat me. After winning NaNoWriMo in November, Brooke used her 5 free codes to print ‘Napped at Night through CreateSpace. ‘Napped at Night was the first full-length novel that Brooke and I wrote in 5th and 6th grades respectively.

The rest of the day was spent at the library (aside from a lunch break at the good ol’ Southern restaurant Crackerbarrel and a game of checkers). Doing what authors do best, we took almost two hours to just talk about books and life and the lot. Following that, we browsed the terribly unorganized library shelves, which went every which way in all kinds of orders. I honestly think they organized by title, author, and by way of dewey decimal all at the same time.

After finding some good books for Brooke (I already had my own stack at home), we went to eat, leaving Brooke’s books in quite the secure location, quoting as I placed them on the tallest shelf in the reference section, quoting from John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice series as I placed it there, “People rarely look up.” Satisfied that the books were safe, we left for our lunch.

IMG_0108

“People rarely look up.”

When we returned, Brooke and I spent the rest of the day posing in all the likely places in the library, and after so much peering through shelves and wondering what to do next, we finally settled on a game only a couple of authors would devise. Giving ourselves five minutes (which eventually turned into 15), we confined ourselves to the Young Adult section and had to pick five titles (not paying attention to content at all, mind you) that we felt described each other. The results were amusing and filled with references to inside jokes and the books we’ve written.

I gave Brooke: Starclimber, Among the Brave, Girlfriend Material, Flygirl, and Runaway Twin. She, in turn, selected: Where Things Come BackDouble Identity, It’s Kind of a Funny Story, The Misfits, and Briar Rose.

When the last game was played, it was time for us to part. Bittersweet as always, there were farewell hugs and, at the last moment I yelled our customary sign-off, “May the stars shine upon our next meeting” to which she replied, grinning, “And may the hair on your hobbit toes grow ever longer.”

Hopefully we’ll be able to drag Brenna in on the insanity here soonly. Maybe after we can drive. That and get over our fear of cars, too. Because, let’s face it, that’s a very scary business.

Merry Christmas and the Happiest of New Years from Elizabeth E. Brookes!

2 Responses to “EEB’s Merry Christmas”

  1. brookenicolenorris January 5, 2014 at 11:41 AM #

    LOL…I was about to die laughing over here. 🙂 What a nice day that was! And yes, I do appreciate my hand fan very much. I will certainly use it in a sequel for Masquerades and Musketeers.
    Only I did notice one nerdy problem…it’s “May the hair on your hobbit toes grow ever longer.” 🙂

    • Sarah Spradlin January 5, 2014 at 8:18 PM #

      LOL! It really was 🙂 Ah! Thank you! I shall correct this thing most immediately! *salutes*

Leave a Reply

