Welcome Home

5 Apr

Last summer my drama teacher, Mr. Kevin Jackson, passed away without much of a warning. Though he was never a movie star nor will be in history books, his impact on my community was huge. Well nigh one thousand people attended his memorial service, though I am not even sure that all of them could speak English. Though the sight was amazing, it was not hard to guess why so many people attended. With a cheery welcome, warm smile, and sincere conversations, Mr. Kevin spread Jesus’ love to every single person he encountered. He was not your typical “drama director” who barks out orders to his students. We were not puppets on a string and he made sure we knew it. Everyone had a priceless value in his eyes, right down to me, even though I had just moved to the area not long before I met the Jacksons and had almost no friends.

During Mr. Kevin’s memorial service, the church played a song he had written. It was called “Welcome Home” and though the lyrics spoke of his travels, it seemed ironic to me because he had truly found his home now in heaven with Christ. This was around the time that I began to heal from my move to North Georgia from Leesburg, Georgia. I realized that everyone has a story to tell, and though mine may not be significant, it may be of use to others around me and may help create awareness for Mr. Kevin’s family. He left behind his wife and four children, who were girls under sixteen years old. His death was from a sudden, unexpected brain aneurism and his family is going through a tough time.

Though this story I am writing may seem like an autobiography, I really do not want it to be about me. It is my wish that you will learn from my past mistakes, learn about my background, meet Mr. Kevin, read about the small town of Leesburg, and see how the definition of ”home” changed last year. In turned, it changed me. My view of Christ, home, friends, and family has been completely altered since this time a year ago and I believe the Lord used his servant Mr. Kevin to help me.

This is going to be a bit different from the previous projects I have attempted. I thought about writing this as a book, trying to get it published, and then donating most of the proceeds to the Jackson family. However, I think I am going to go about this a bit more informally in order to reach a broader audience. Instead of trying to publish this as a book, I think I am going to post a chapter a week on this blog. There will be approximately 17 chapters, so this will most likely run until around late summer. It will be free to read, so go ahead: read the posts and then tell your friends! I do ask for feedback to make this testimony better grammatically and if you benefit from these upcoming posts, please consider giving money to Mr. Kevin Jackson’s family. There are options via paypal and through Helping Hands Ministries. More details about both of these can be found at this link, which I will be including in every chapter I write:
http://www.cue52.com/CUE52/Donations_for_the_Jackson_Family.html

All chapters of this project will be part of a “book” or blog series named “Welcome Home.” Just do a keyword search on this blog for “welcome home” or “kevin Jackson” and you should immediately see all of the related posts.

I hope you will support this new project! I look forward to your feedback! 🙂

3 Responses to “Welcome Home”

  1. Sarah Spradlin April 5, 2014 at 9:35 PM #

    *hugs* Best of luck with this project, Brooke! I can tell it is coming straight from your heart, and I know God has big plans for you 😉

  2. dompet lufas July 24, 2014 at 4:13 AM #

    Admiring the dedication you put into your blog and detailed information you present.
    It’s awesome to come across a weblog every often that isn’t the same
    old rehashed information. Great read! I’ve bookmark your site and
    I’m adding your RSS feeds to my bookmark account.

  3. grosir tas kulit August 7, 2014 at 11:52 AM #

    Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my new iphone during lunch break.
    I really like the information you present here and can’t wait to take
    a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog crammed on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, very good blog!

Leave a Reply

