Liebster Blog Award 2014

9 May

EEB was recently nominated by the fantastic Victoria W., the author and founder of Miss Tadoodles Corner, for the Liebster Blog Award.

What is the Liebster Award? It’s actually quite simple: it’s an award just for blogs, given by bloggers. Now, before you turn your nose up at what seems like a “chain” award, think about this: somebody thought enough of your blog to nominate you and also give you the opportunity to spread that joy to other bloggers. We here at EEB think that’s pretty great.

Now, if you are nominated, there are a few guidelines and rules you have to follow. And not Barbarossa’s idea of guidelines and rules. We really want you to follow these.

  1. Post the award on your blog.
  2. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link back to their blog.
  3. Write 11 random facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate 5-11 bloggers who you feel deserve this award and have less than 1,000 followers.
  5. Answer 11 questions posted by your presenter and ask your nominees to answer 11 questions.

Here are our eleven random facts:

  1. Brooke and Brenna are both into theater and have acted in lots of plays and productions.
  2. Sarah has never worn make-up. Ever.
  3. Brooke and Sarah’s first book was called The Kids at Krystal Cove. They don’t really speak of it to anyone… and they have plenty of reason not to!
  4. Brenna almost got snow in May!
  5. It’s already been 92 degrees where Sarah and Brooke live.
  6. Sarah and Brenna’s longest Skype conversation was almost four hours long.
  7. Sarah and Brooke’s longest phone conversation was also almost four hours long.
  8. Speaking of phones, Sarah and Brooke are convinced the FBI is after them because they regularly hear tapping on the line while they’re talking on the phone!
  9. Liz Elestir is based on how Sarah imagined her hero-form would be while she and Brooke were writing WilderQuest.
  10. All of the girls, Brooke, Brenna, and Sarah, are the oldest siblings in the house. Sarah has one younger sister, Brenna has two younger sisters, and Brooke has one younger brother.
  11. Sarah accidentally left her Bible outside during a torrential downpour. She is still using this Bible now.

Here’s our (Sarah’s) answers to Victoria’s questions!

  1. What’s your favorite time of day and why? I love that moment just when you wake up and you either get to turn over and go back to sleep (which is almost never for me!) or get up and face the day. It’s always a great moment for me because the day is still full of possibilities, and we get to choose to pick an outlook for the day right then! Fun fact: I sometimes wake up to “Sherlock Lives” from the Season Three Soundtrack of BBC’s Sherlock television show.
  2. How would you describe your eye color in a book? Hmmm… I guess something like, “Her eyes were somewhere stuck between gray, green, blue, and brown. They were storm of color that spoke just as deeply as anything she ever said; sometimes they were filled with laughter, other times with disapproval or just thoughtful reflection.”
  3. If you had 3 wishes from a genie, what you would ask? (3 rules apply: 1. Can’t kill. 2. Can’t make someone love you. 3. Can’t bring the dead back to life). I would wish 1) that I would have the ability to time travel, 2) that I could visit my own fictional worlds (but have a plot-shield so my villains couldn’t kill me!), and 3) that I never messed up while performing piano pieces! That drives me crazy! Every time!
  4. Favorite band and why? Favorite… I don’t think you realize what you’ve done here. Because you’re asking me to do a thing. And you know what? No. I refuse to answer. I cannot pick a favorite… I just– that’s not a nice question. I can say that I love all kinds of “Jesus Music,” soundtrack music, and some pop (like Bastille and Imagine Dragons!).
  5. Favorite childhood memory? When my dad used to tell me and my little sister fantasy stories while we lived in South Georgia. He’s probably the person who really first inspired me to start writing.
  6. Would you date/marry someone twice your size? Erhmmm… this is quite an odd question. I guess if I was really in love and I felt like God wanted us to, I would. Haha! It would still be kinda crazy, though.
  7. What’s your top 6 favorite foods/drinks that you couldn’t live without? Water (yeah, I’m one of those people)… blue box Mac’n’cheese… really good, soggy sauteed green-beans… McDonald’s french fries… Burger King’s Whopper Junior (with cheese and no onions)… any kind of ice cream.
  8. Now, cut that 6 in half; Which 3 out of the 6 would you choose to live without, forever? You’re just not being nice, are you? Hmmmm… I guess ice cream, green-beans, and Whopper Junior.
  9. Do you like like heat or cold better? Heat! I used to like the cold better, but after this Winter, I am all for some nice warm summer weather. Besides, when it’s hot, that means I get to work on my watch tan!
  10. When was the last time you ate peanut butter? Erhmmm… I don’t know? A couple months? I’m actually not a really big fan of peanut butter. Don’t throw things! I like all the other normal American things.
  11. Do you love/follow Jesus? Oh yeah, sister! Of course! And I do know that Brenna and Brooke do as well.

Now, for our questions for you nominees. Are you folks just dying to find out who we nominate? Hehe. I am loving keeping you in suspense. Shush. I’m not a terrible person.

  1. Of all the books you’ve ever read, which one impacted you the most as a person and how?
  2. Name one guilty pleasure that you have (and don’t mind sharing).
  3. Which do you like better: the beach or the mountains (there is only one right answer to this question)?
  4. Choose and defend: Star Wars or Star Trek?
  5. What is your biggest pet-peeve about Internet culture?
  6. Big thunderstorm is coming toward your town. What is your reaction?
  7. What super power do you wish you had?
  8. Your name is called at your district’s reaping. What is your strategy for the Hunger Games?
  9. What is, in your opinion, the coolest thing you’ve ever done?
  10. What does your ideal adventure-quest-thingy consist of?
  11. You have ten words to describe yourself in. Go.

And, without further adieu, our nominees:

  1. Miss Hannah from Sword of Ink
  2. Those Awesome People at Worldpen
  3. The One and Only Author of Adjustedsails
  4. Reagan Ramm in his Arsenal
  5. Katie Comstock from Writer’s Ramblings
  6. and the Ink Slinger

Thanks again, Victoria! What a great opportunity!

-the EEB Team

7 Responses to “Liebster Blog Award 2014”

  1. Victoria W. May 9, 2014 at 11:28 PM #

    LOL. Reading this made my night! If nothing else, this was worth it. 🙂 Thank you! ❤

    BAHAHA. XD My sister is constantly telling me how bad I am or “not so nice”.. XD Like with my characters, she tells me “Your characters are going to jump out of that book and strangle you for all you put them through!” And the questions she read after I posed my Blog Award she was “you are bad!” XD I have to apologize, I did write a majority of it all at 4-5am and actually I’m surprised it didn’t turn out….so nice (and not-so-random). XD LOL!

    I loved all of y’all’s responses and even your questions for the next nominees! We might have to do this again sometime just for the fun of it ;D

    God bless you, Sarah, Brooke, and Brenna!

    • Victoria W. May 9, 2014 at 11:30 PM #

      (Correction) “I’m surprised it turned out…as nice as it did! XD”

      • Sarah Spradlin May 10, 2014 at 5:51 PM #

        Haha!! Thanks again, Victoria!! So glad you enjoyed it 🙂 Keep in touch!!

        ~Sarah

  2. theelusivebrenna May 10, 2014 at 3:19 PM #

    Star Trek is spelled with one ‘k’. *nitpicks with love and a cheesy grin*

    • Sarah Spradlin May 10, 2014 at 5:50 PM #

      I did it just to see if you would catch it xD

      • Victoria W. May 12, 2014 at 12:48 PM #

        Thank you as well 🙂 and yes, lets keep in touch 😉

      • Sarah Spradlin May 12, 2014 at 4:34 PM #

        Sounds like a plan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

