“The Stars Shone Brightly in the Moonless Sky as Sarah and Brooke Waited…”

1 Jul

Those lines have become legend with EEB. They are the beginning words for the summary of ‘Napped at Night, which is me and Sarah’s first full length book we wrote together.
When Sarah first told me about this idea on July 1 2009, I thought it was crazy. After all, it is not every day that you hear about kids stolen, taken down a literal underground railroad all the way to Wyoming, forced to work in a mill that made whiskey, and then escape. I honestly did not think it would work because we had both started projects before and then dropped them, but this time we persevered. With no outline. On her old laptop and my parent’s desktop PC. With characters that were basically heroic forms of ourselves, hence the names are the same. We missed seeing each other so much that now I wonder if we wrote this story with the hope to get kidnapped just so we could be together again. Aaah. So many fun memories, including our notorious Shakespeare-sounding twelve year old character named Jordan who once exclaimed, “Sarah, it cannot be!” You knew that one was coming, Sarah. πŸ˜‰ I started reading ‘Napped at Night again today, fell in love with the idea all over again, but noticed even more fallacies, such as my character being eleven, then ten, and then has her eleventh birthday. Shhhhhhh. It’s okay. I had to tell myself that since we were just in fifth and sixth grade, I should probably just laugh it off.
Regardless, ‘Napped at Night is one of my fondest memories of writing. There was something about those humid long summer nights and crisp, cold-toed early days of fall when we wrote that story. There was something about the fantasy of being kidnapped. There was something magical in the memories of old with our dear friend Jordan Whitfield, who we wished to see again. The idea of Indian reservations and railroad hobos was intriguing, stirring our young imaginations to unique destinations. We even quite literally dreamed of our characters after a while. Chris and Martin, the kidnappers, have been to my house and have actually talked to me in my dreams. That’s how close we are. Even Sarah’s dad had dreams related to ‘Napped at Night while we were writing this. Everyone got involved. As this book and EEB turns five today, I want to thank those (like our friends and family) who have come so far with us on this “train ride to Wyoming and beyond.” Thanks! The cake is for you. πŸ™‚

Happy Birthday, EEB!!!!! Have all the cake you want. :-) The picture is a mixture between a public domain copy-right free Wikimedia Commons file and my own bad job in Paint. ;-)

Happy Birthday, EEB!!!!! Have all the cake you want. πŸ™‚ The picture is a mixture between a public domain copy-right free Wikimedia Commons file and my own bad job in Paint. πŸ˜‰

This is the first page of 'Napped at Night I wrote. This is not even in the prologue anymore. It was revised and moved to chapter one.

This is the first page of ‘Napped at Night I wrote. This is not even in the prologue anymore. It was revised and moved to chapter one.


World War 3! This is the first page Sarah and I tried to write together over the phone...and then we decided that splitting up chapters was a far better idea. :-)

World War 3! This is the first page Sarah and I tried to write together over the phone…and then we decided that splitting up chapters was a far better idea. πŸ™‚

One Response to ““The Stars Shone Brightly in the Moonless Sky as Sarah and Brooke Waited…””

  1. Sarah Spradlin July 1, 2014 at 5:37 PM #

    for their parents to return in their separate homes… xD All the feelings, girl πŸ™‚ I can’t believe it’s been that long… seriously… like, that’s insane. Yeah, I’m just going to sit and think about feelings for a while xD Don’t worry about me. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

