Life is Like Disney’s Mary Poppins Movie…A Few Philosophical and Theological Notes I Thought I’d Share

9 Jul

All of this came to me this morning while thinking about life and God’s will for the future. Some of it seems a bit self-evident now, but it did help me, so I thought I’d share…

Life is like Disney’s Mary Poppins movie: we sing and dance, until an unexpected storm hits and we disperse.  If you’re like me, you like to sing and dance, particularly with a certain group of people. Also as in Mary Poppins, this group of people can be friends you have just met, or it could be family or close friends that you have known all of your life. Either way, we usually don’t like it when the storm comes and we must part ways. Like Michael and Jane, we wail when playtime is over. But as Mary says, we stay “until the wind changes.”

The problem is we don’t know when the winds will change, or indeed if they will in that season. Consequently, we cause ourselves too much worry. Being hit by a few storms myself, I have become a meteorologist with severe OCD, testing the winds too long, and constantly watching the tide. So many different people have come and gone as soon as I have had the opportunity to know them well. Why should I let myself be hit with another storm? Why not stay inside and watch someone else’s heart break while I’m comfortable, dry, and happy as a clam? Well, that’s not how life works. I’m not happy as a clam by myself. Despite the danger, I still want to meet new friends. And as Sarah told me the other day, what would our lives be without adventure?

Another problem is that I am not a very good meteorologist. Have you ever tried to guess what God’s will is before you actually knew it? Keith Green’s song “Trials Turned to Gold” says, “The view from here is nothing near to what it is for You. I tried to see Your plan for me, but I only acted like I knew. Oh Lord, forgive the times I tried to read Your mind, cause You said if I’d be still, then I would hear Your voice.” Sometimes I think I can guess God’ will, so I try to look into the future to see where I’ll be. Sometimes thinking about the future can save us some headaches down the road. After all, we would never accomplish too much of anything if we didn’t plan it first and then act on it. The life of King Solomon is a firm reminder of the importance of wisdom, and I firmly believe that considering the future is a trait of it. But here is where I think the problem lies: considering the future is important. Worrying about it is not. Considering the future is a healthy habit of life; worrying about the future is a good way to destroy it.

A lot of times I worry about things that never happen. Something happens once, like a friend betraying me, and I suddenly extrapolate the evidence to conclude that every friend will betray me. Overconfident in my skills as a meteorologist, I predict the weather based on one or two experiences and then decide to stay inside.

But wait! WAIT!!!! There is a better way to live! When I was having troubles last summer, my friend Moriah admitted that she did not have too much advice to give on that particular subject. She did tell me this, however, and if I would remember it I could be saved from so much worry and hardship. It all boils down to this: “follow God, and you will have no regrets.” As Keith Green put it, “Just keep doing your best, pray that it’s blessed. Jesus will take care of the rest.” It’s so simple that it could almost could be a self-evident truth, and perhaps it is for you, but it wasn’t for me. I did not see this simple truth for years and probably let a lot of opportunities slip by because I did not have this security in my life. Matthew 6:31-34 tells us, “So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:31-34). The Bible says it all.

The wind may not change for some time. And then again, it may be changing as you are reading this page. But the bottom line is that we cannot spend time worrying about it. It truly is better to “seek first His kingdom and His righteousness,” trusting that God does know the plan for us and that He will equip us with whatever we need to brave the storm. Love the Lord your God with all your Heart, Mind, Body, and Soul. Everything else will work out. 

Do not worry about the storm. Sometimes we waste time worrying about things that were never God’s plan to begin with. We are only human, and the Bible tells us that we do not even know what a day may bring. How much less do we know what God’s plan is exactly? Ecclesiastes says that there is a time for everything, so go ahead and sing and dance, doing everything in the Lord. Thank Him for every sunny day, and let Him be your “spoonful of sugar” when a storm does come. Live for Him so that you will have no regrets when a storm does hit. Love Him so that you can run home merrily, skipping in the rain puddles and content with the joy you have in serving the Lord.

Leave a Reply

